My New Year’s TV Resolutions

2015 is here, and everyone is making impossible resolutions: to exercise more, eat less crap, stop drinking, stop spending money on useless things… I like to keep it simple. My resolutions are achievable goals, like changing out of my pajamas on days where I’m not planning on leaving the house, just in case someone decides to come visit. But some of them also TV-related. So what am I going to try to change on my TV habits this year?

Watch more dramas

masters_sex

Most of the shows I watch are either sitcoms or sci-fi and fantasy and there are not many dramas in my favorite shows’ list (‘The Hour’ and ‘Sherlock’ are exceptions.)

I gave a chance to ‘Masters of Sex’ this year and while I didn’t hate it, I didn’t love it, so I dropped it.  Same thing happened with ‘How to Get Away With Murder’, ‘Blacklist’, and others. I have always rationalized not enjoying straight-up dramas as much with me thinking of TV as an escape from the horrible realities of the world, but the truth is, sometimes they just bore me. That’s why this year I have decided to find some compelling and interesting dramas to watch that can help get me into the genre. Maybe I will give some of the aforementioned a second chance. 

Give shows more time

image credit: Warner Bross TV
image credit: Warner Bross TV

This is something I accuse many networks of, but sometimes I do the same. I gave ‘Selfie’ the Pilot and then stopped watching for the next three weeks until I caught up, only to find out the show was becoming great. I did the same with ‘A to Z’ (and apparently so did most of its audience) and I never looked back. The previously mentioned ‘How to Get Away With Murder’ kept me interested for three episodes. I think, collectively, as an audience, we need to let shows find their footing. Especially with American TV, seasons are long and we can’t expect the same pace from them that we do from a mini-series. Dynamics need to be established, storylines need to be set and writers need to learn from their mistakes, it is truly then when a show shows its true potential. So I’m going to give them more time to show me what they got before I decide. After all, I stuck with Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. and that turned out great.

Be a little more wary

Shows you love can hurt you. I have learned this the hard way through years and years of abandoned TV shows. In 2014 I fell in love hard with ‘The Walking Dead’ and then it delivered awful storytelling after its season 5 premiere, putting me off the show for a while, if not permanently if I hear no signs of it getting better. Then ‘The 100’ arrived, and it was the perfect rebound show. Do I trust it? Not yet. And this is how it has to be from now on. I will never say a show ‘would never do that‘ again. It can do that and it most likely will.

Never stop loving love

image credit: The CW
image credit: The CW

I spoke about this on my Top 10 ships post, but sometimes us shippers are looked down upon as inferior beings unable to criticize television and prone to hysterics. I have often wondered myself if maybe this was true. Was I being biased? Was I being critical of things because I was not getting my way? I have realized the answer is no. In fact I thank being a shipper for my ability to criticize those things I love, regardless of my love for them. No show I watch, no matter how much I like it, is free of mistakes, whether my favorite ship is hooking up or whether it isn’t (example: I stopped watching ‘Bones’, just before Booth and Brennan finally got together, because the show was just not as good.) Sometimes good shows handle my ships badly, and I will criticize that as well. So I will continue to ship, and I will continue to express my opinions.

Remember there is good TV outside USA and UK

isabel

Collective gasp of surprise for those who don’t know me: I’m actually from Spain. But I barely watch Spanish TV. That happens to be a mistake, because there is a lot of good fiction being produced in Spain that I am missing. ‘Mysteries of Laura’? A remake from a Spanish show. ‘Redband Society’? A remake from a Spanish show (actually I did watch the original Pulseras Rojas, it was wonderful.) ‘Isabel’ about Isabella I of Castille is, according to critics and audiences alike, a wonderful show, and I’m not watching it. It is time for me to give Spanish and  other countries’ TV a chance. 

All of these seem achievable enough! What are your TV resolutions for this year? Are you going to join some of mine? Let me know below.

Leave a Reply

